Ego versus Humility

Posted: June 5, 2010 in Artist Management, Personal Manager

I think one of the greatest enemies and at the same time, for an artist especially, one of the greatest assets is an “EGO”.

Its impossible to be an artist with any talent and to not have an “ego” or a sense of ones uniqueness and talent maybe a better way of saying it.

It is essential in fact and part of what is needed to stand out there and perform.

Anyone who stands on a stage and starts performing his art and expecting, dependent on the ego’s degree, to seek the admiration of that audience MUST have an ego but does he also have the HUMILTY?

When the ‘EGO’ takes over, look out, as in my opinion the artist is lost.

I have personal experience and I know my ego collapsed my career or was certainly a major factor in it’s demise.

It is a very humbling experience believe me.

I remember one artist I worked with who started to “loose it” as his career hit a bad patch  and demand this and that and one of his demands involved some legal matter so I had to call his attorney.

On explaining to the attorney the demands he said “oh sh.. he’s started to believe his own bio” which is a great way of stating the situation.

This is maybe more a lesson in life experience but I find humility so refreshing and something an audience gravitates towards in the end.

There is nothing better to experience than sheer talent with humility…don’t you think?

To see some amazing performance by an artist that takes ones head off delivered with humility is a stellar experience.

Of course the greater the performance the more ego one can show.

Ego is something a manager has to deal with and both allow and control or not let get out of control at least.

The manager often gets to see a level of the ego that the artists audience never experiences but I think an audience can sense it if its over the top.

I was trying to think of artists with great talent and yet humility.

How about John Lennon,John Coltrane,Michael Brecker, James Taylor,Andrea Bocelli to name but a few you may or may not agree with my choices.

A little humility whoever and whatever we are or do, I believe, is an admirable quality and much more pleasant to experience than an ego which after a while becomes extremely boring.

Leave a Reply

